Organisational Set-up

Odisha Government Press operates with five major units, namely, Press Proper Unit, Forms Unit, Publication Unit, Stationery Unit and School of Printing & Allied Trades.

All kinds of printing activities undertaken by Government Press are carried out in the Press Proper and Forms Units. The Forms Unit undertakes printing of all varieties of standard forms prescribed by Goverment of Odisha and printing of non-standard forms including other printing jobs are taken up in the Press Proper Unit. Storage, distribution and sale of Government publications are dealt in the Publication Unit and supply of statonery articles are done through the Stationery Unit operating in Odisha Government Press. Besides, Odisha Government Press is having a School of Printing & Allied Trades to impart training to the Apprentices on various printing trades with a view to create skilled workforce in printing technology.

Apart from these, eight numbers of Branch Presses located at different places of Odisha viz. Bhubaneswar (two), Khandapada, Chhatrapur, Bolangir, Bhawanipatna, Keonjhar and Deogarh are functioning under the control of Director, Printing, Stationery & Publication, Odisha, Cuttack.

The Press Proper Unit (P.P.Unit) 

The Press Proper Unit is the largest unit of the Directorate which undertakes printing of all varieties required by Government Departments and Offices other than the standard forms. Different printing jobs like brochures, pamphlets, visiting cards, pads, books, rules, regulations, gazettes, reports etc. are undertaken here. In order to execute such huge varieties of printing jobs, the Press Proper Unit has been highly modernised with digitally controlled pre-press, press and post-press machineries. The detailed varieties of printing jobs executed in Press Proper Unit is indicated here (hiper linked to details).

Secretariat Branch Press, Bhubaneswar:

The Branch Press at Bhubaneswar was established with the aim to meet the printing needs of the State, Secretariat and other Government Offices located at Bhubaneswar and also to execute the printing requirement of the Odisha Legislative Assembly, Bhubaneswar. The Branch is equipped with DTP Machines, CtP, Digital Printer, Dominant Sheet-fed Offset Printing Machine, Heidelberg Multi-Colour printing machine, Fast-300, Digital Cutting Machine, Perfect Binding Machine, Plate Processor, Three knife Trimmer, Paper Folding Machine etc. The Branch usually undertakes printing works like Acts, Rules,Ordinances, Activity Reports, Bills and Annual Reports of different Government Departments and other works as entrusted from the P.P.Unit.