## Government of Odisha Commerce & Transport (Transport) Department

No. LC-TR-111 /2016 | 2566 | /T., dated. 07 4 14

WHEREAS the State Government have constituted the Motor Accident Claims Tribunals for different areas of the State of Odisha in this Department Notification Nos. .7644 dated 06.11.2013, 296 dated 15.01.2015, 1072 dated 13.02.2015 and 7420 dated 21.10.2016 for the purpose of adjudicating upon claims for compensation in respect of accidents involving the death of, or bodily injury to persons arising out of the use of Motor Vehicles or damages to any property of a third party so arising or both;

AND WHEREAS, for some of the areas two or more Motor Accident Claims Tribunals have been constituted.

NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (4) of section 165 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (59 of 1988) and in supersession of the Department Order No. 4617 dated the 19th April, 2001, the State Government do hereby distribute the business among them as follows:-

The Motor Accident Claims cases shall be filed before the First Motor Accident Claims Tribunals of Cuttack, Keonjhar, Puri, Sambalpur, Kalahandi, Koraput, Boudh, Nuapada, Angul, Sonepur, Bargarh, Nabarangpur, Bhadrak, Balasore, Gajapati, Jharsuguda, Dhenkanal, Jajpur, Kandhamal, Rayagada, Ganjam, Deogarh, Nayagarh, Kendrapara, Malkangiri, Jagatsinghpur, Khurda, Mayurbhani, Sundergarh and Bolangir. Third Motor Accident Claims Tribunals of Rairangpur, Kuchinda, Talcher, Rourkela, Titilagarh, Champua, Bhanjanagar and Dharmgarh, Fourth Motor Accident Claims Tribunal of Padampur, Gunupur and Kamakshyanagar, Fifth Motor Accident Claims Tribunals of Athagarh and Khurda, Sixth Motor Accident Claims Tribunals of Patnagarh, Bonai, Nimapara and Karanjia, Seventh Motor Accident Claims Tribunals of Chhatrapur and Kantabanjhi and Eighth Motor Accident Claims Tribunal of Aska, as specified in the schedule to the notifications mentioned above, who shall have the power to hear and dispose of the claims in respect of their jurisdictions specified in the said schedule. Further, the outlying station where more than one Additional District & Sessions Judge, are functioning, the 1st Additional District & Sessions Judge who has the power to receive the claim petitions so filed before him, shall have the power to make over such cases to other Motor Accident Claims Tribunals of the respective jurisdiction by way of equal distribution for hearing and disposal of the claim cases so made over.

The First Motor Accident Claims Tribunals as stated above shall also have the power to make over the claim cases so filed to any other Motor Accident Claims Tribunals coming under the respective jurisdiction of the said First Motor Accident Claims Tribunals as the case may be, for hearing and disposal of the claim cases so made over. He shall have the power to withdraw any such claim cases made over to any Motor Accident Claims Tribunal in the Judgeship and make over such cases to any other Motor Accident Claims Tribunal of the concerned jurisdiction.

The Second Motor Accident Claims Tribunals and other Motor Accident Claims Tribunals to which claim cases are made over by the First Motor Accident Claims Tribunals shall have the power to hear and dispose of such claim cases.

By order of the Governor

Joint Secretary to Government.

(b+0)

Memo No 2567 /T. dated 07 4 17

Copy along with its soft copy forwarded to the In-charge, Gazette Cell, C & T (Commerce) Department, Odisha with a request to kindly publish the notification in an extra-ordinary issue of the Odisha Gazette and to supply 20 copies of the Notification to this Department.

Memo No 2568 /T. dated 07/4/17 Joint Secretary to Government

Copy forwarded to the Special Officer (Admn.), Orissa High Court, Cuttack for information with reference to his letter XXIX-24/1986(PF) 1319 dated 9.2.2017.

Memo No 2569 /T. dated 07/4/17 Joint Secretary to Government.

Copy forwarded to All Departments / All Heads of Departments/ Transport Commissioner, Odisha, Cuttack/ CMD, OSRTC, Bhubaneswar / A.G. (Audit & Accounts), Odisha, Bhubaneswar / Secretary, OLA, Bhubaneswar / Addl. District & Sessions Judge, Karanjia/ Member, STAT/ All Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal/ DG & IG of Police, Cuttack/ All Deputy Commissioners Transport (Zonal), Cuttack, Berhampur & Samblpur /All Chairman, Regional Transport Authority-cum-Collectors/ All Regional Transport Officers/ All Asst. Regional Transport Officers for information and necessary action.

Memo No. 2570 /T. dated 07/4/17

Joint Secretary to Government

Copy forwarded to PS to Chief Minister, Odisha / P.S. to Minister, Commerce & Transport, Odisha / P.S. to Chief Secretary, Odisha/ P.S. to D.C.-cum-Addl. Chief Secretary, Odisha/Sr. P.S. to Principal Secretary to Govt., C& T Department/ Sr. PS to CRC & Special Secretary to Govt. , C&T Department for kind information of Hon'ble Chief Minister/ Hon'ble Minister, C&T/ Chief Secretary/ D.C.-cum-Addl. Chief Secretary/ Principal Secretary to Govt. / CRC & Special Secretary to Govt. respectively.

Memo No 2571 dated 07 |4 | 17

Joint Secretary to Government

Copy to All Sections/ Guard file (10 spare copies) for information.

Joint Secretary to Government