



EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 1233, CUTTACK, TUESDAY, JULY 25, 2017/ SRAVAN 3, 1939

COMMERCE & TRANSPORT (TRANSPORT) DEPARTMENT

NOTIFICATION

The 22nd July, 2017

No.5018-TRN-LC-MISC-51/2017/T.— In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (2) and sub-section (4) of Section 215 of Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (59 of 1988) and in supersession of Commerce & Transport (Transport) Department Notification No.7321-LC-TR-40/2014/T., dated the 18th November, 2015 published in the *Odisha Gazette* Extraordinary issue No.1594, dated the 20th November, 2015, the State Government do hereby reconstitute the State Road Safety Council for the State consisting of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and other members as indicated at Para. 1 and the Council so reconstituted shall discharge such functions as indicated at Para.3 below:

1 . (i)	Minister, Commerce & Transport, Odisha	 Chairman
(ii)	Chief Secretary, Odisha	 Vice Chairman
(iii)	Development Commissioner, Odisha	 Member
(iv)	Agriculture Production Commissioner, Odisha	 Member
(v)	Secretary, Finance Department	 Member
(vi)	Secretary, Home Department	 Member
(vii)	Director General & I.G. of Police, Odisha	 Member
(viii)	Secretary, Commerce & Transport Department	 Member
(ix)	Secretary, School & Mass Education	 Member
	Department	
(x)	Secretary, Health & Family Welfare Department	 Member
(xi)	Secretary, Works Department	 Member

2

(xii)	Secretary, Housing & Urban Development		Member
	Department		
	Secretary, Law Department		
(xiii)			Member
(xiv)	Secretary, Higher Education Department		Member
(XV)	Secretary, Excise Department		Member
(xvi)	Transport Commissioner-cum-Chairman, STA,	···•	Member
	Odisha		
(xvii)	State Head, NHAI, Odisha		Member
(xviii)	A member from the Voluntary Organization		Member
	dealing with Road Safety (to be nominated by		
	the State Government)		
(xix)	Commissioner of Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack,		Member
	Bhubaneswar		
(xx)	Chairman-cum-Managing Director,		Member
	Odisha State Road Transport Corporation		
(xxi)	Chief Engineer (National Highway)		Member
(xxii)	Chief Engineer (Roads)		Member
(xxiii)	General Secretary, All Odisha Bus Owner's		Member
	Association		
(xxiv)	General Secretary, Odisha State Truck Owners'		Member
	Federation		
(xxv)	Addl. Secretary/Joint Secretary/Deputy		Member Convener
	Secy./Under Secretary (dealing with the matter)		
	Commerce & Transport (Transport) Deptt.		

2. The Chairman may co-opt. members from the Press and representatives from the Motor Transport Workers' Union.

3. The Council shall,-

 advise on all matters pertaining to planning and coordination of policies, practices, standards of safety in the road transport sector; .

- (ii) formulate and recommend road safety programmes for implementation by State Road Safety Organizations as also other State Agencies in charge of road transportation;
- suggest areas for research and development to improve safety aspects in the road transport sector, including maintenance of statistics of road accidents and their analysis; and
- (iv) generally oversee and monitor the road safety measures undertaken in the State.

4. The Council will hold its meeting at least twice a year.

 The Council shall decide the procedure and methodology to be adopted for its functioning.

By Order of the Governor

D. NAYAK

Joint Secretary to Government

Printed and published by the Director, Printing, Stationery and Publication, Odisha, Cuttack-10 Ex. Gaz. 561-173+100

3