Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

About Department

Commerce & Transport Department Inner Banner

About Department

The Commerce & Transport Department came into existence during the year 1971-72. This Department consists of two wings i.e. Commerce wing and Transport wing. 


i)  Commerce wing of Commerce & Transport Department : 

The Commerce wing has two Heads of Department under its administrative control, namely Directorate of Printing, Stationery & Publication, Odisha, Cuttack and Directorate of Ports & Inland Water Transport, Odisha, Bhubaneswar. The Directorate of Printing, Stationery & Publication is a Quasi Industrial Service Organisation which delivers different Services like printing of Scheduled & Non-Scheduled Forms, State Government Gazette, Government Publication, Printing of Govt. Diary, State Govt. Budget, etc. The Directorate of Ports & Inland Water Transport is looking after port development & inland water transport in the State. Port Policy-2004 has been formulated for development of ports with the participation of the private sector. The Odisha Maritime board Bill, 2011 is under process to setup a Maritime Board for efficient management of ports and port operation in the State. To generate employment among the youths of the State, the Crew Training Institute is functioning at Chandbali in Bhadrak District imparting crew training. The trained youths can find service as crew in boats & launches. To publish all extraordinary Gazettes of the Government in Govt. Website, Gazette Notification cell is functioning in the Secretariat under the control of Commerce Department. Commerce Department looks after Gazette Notification on change of name or surname of persons, Partnership Deeds, Resolution & Notifications of Govt. Departments, Public Undertakings, Universities, etc.


ii) Transport wing of Commerce & Transport Department : 

The Transport  Department is entrusted with the matters relating to Road Transport. The Department administers the Motor Vehicle Taxation Acts and Rules made there under. The Department also supervises, regulates the working and functioning of the various bodies under the Department. These bodies are State Transport Authority and Directorate of Civil Aviation. There is also a corporation namely “Odisha State Road Transport Corporation” functioning under Transport Department. Besides, there are Motor Accident Tribunals namely STAT, Cuttack, 2nd MACT (NZ), Sambalpur and 2nd MACT (SZ), Berhampur which mainly looks after finalization of Motor Accidents Claim cases. There is a scheme under this Department namely Biju Gaon Gadi Yojana (BGGY) with the objective to ensure public transport connectivity to un-serviced / under-serviced, scheduled and backward areas including LWE areas.